Deactivating your VantagePoint Registration Code and moving your VP license from one computer to another

Your Registration Code is your key to unlock VantagePoint. Sometimes you may need to change computers and move VantagePoint to a new computer. In this case, you must deactivate the Registration Code on the old computer before it can be used on the new computer. Or, if your computer will be reformatted or upgraded to a new operating system, you must first deactivate the Registration Code or you won't be able to use it again.

The Registration Code/License Deactivation is done using the Help / Manage License menu item. You are presented with the Manage VantagePoint License dialog.

First, copy and paste the Registration Code to a text file or some location where it can be retrieved later. Then, choose whether you will deactivate Using the Internet (preferred method for those with internet connection) or Using Email.

Deactivate Using Internet

To Deactivate Using the Internet, click the Deactivate Now! button:

deactivate1

You are presented with the warning box for confirmation: 

VP-Move-4

When you are ready to accept, click Yes. You should receive a message box stating “Successfully deactivated license. VantagePoint will now close.” Click OK, VantagePoint closes.

That Registration Code is now available for use on another computer.  You may now Uninstall VantagePoint from your old computer. 

Deactivate Using Email

If you do not have internet access, you can Deactivate your Registration Code Using Email. (Note: This process may take a few hours or as many as two business days to complete, depending on your location.)

Click the Using Email tab.  

1. Click the Create Deactivation Code button.

deactivate3

A Warning box appears, advising you that performing this action will deactivate your license and close VantagePoint. Click Yes to confirm if you want to proceed. Another Warning message appears: 

VP-Move-6

Click OK to dismiss the message. NOTE: This does not complete the process - you must continue through Step 3, below.

deactivate5

2. A Deactivation Code has been assigned and appears in the "Deactivation Code" field.

3. Click the Create Deactivation Request Email button.

An email addressed to searchtech.com appears with the Deactivation Code pasted in the body of the email. Send the email. You must send us the Deactivation Code before you can activate VantagePoint on another computer. Press OK in the dialog box. VantagePoint closes.

Within one or two business days, you should receive a reply email confirming your Registration Code was successfully deactivated. The Deactivation process is not complete until you receive this confirmation.

Home  Contact Us          © 2001 - 2017 Search Technology, Inc.  |  Privacy Statement